<u>Final Regulations Adopted under an Exemption</u> <u>from the Administrative Process Act</u> (Adopted - June 8, 2000; Effective - August 2, 2000)

<u>**Title of Regulation:**</u> 18 VAC 85-20-10 et seq. Regulations Governing the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathy, Podiatry, and Chiropractic, and Physician Acupuncture.

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 and Chapter 29, (§ 54.1-2900 et. seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia

Effective Date: August 2, 2000

Summary: These regulations protect the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by establishing requirements and fees for initial license, license renewal, reinstatement of a lapsed license and approval of foreign medical schools that teach the healing arts.

18 VAC 85-20-22. Required fees.

- A. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board shall not be refundable.
- B. All examination fees shall be determined by and made payable as designated by the board.
- C. The application fee for licensure in medicine, osteopathy, and podiatry shall be \$225, and the fee for licensure in chiropractic shall be \$200. The fee for board approval to sit for Part 3 of the United States Medical Licensing Examination without subsequent licensure in Virginia shall be \$85.
- D. The fee for a temporary permit to practice medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2927 B (i) and (ii) of the Code of Virginia shall be \$30.
- E. The application fee for a limited professorial or fellow license issued pursuant to 18 VAC 85-20-210 shall be \$55. The annual renewal fee shall be \$35. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be \$15.
- F. The application fee for a limited license to interns and residents pursuant to 18 VAC 85-20-220 shall be \$55. The annual renewal fee shall be \$35 a year. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be \$15.
- G. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be \$15; the fee for a duplicate license shall be \$5.
- H. The fee for biennial renewal shall be \$260 for licensure in medicine, osteopathy and podiatry and \$235 for licensure in chiropractic, due in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for processing a late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be \$90 for licensure in medicine, osteopathy and podiatry and \$80 for licensure in chiropractic.
- I. The fee for requesting reinstatement of licensure pursuant to § 54.1-2921 of the Code of Virginia shall be \$2,000.
- J. The application fee for licensure to practice acupuncture shall be \$55. The biennial renewal fee shall be \$70, due and payable by June 30 of each even numbered year.
- ₭ J. The fee for reinstatement of a license issued by the Board of Medicine pursuant to § 54.1-2904 of the Code of Virginia, which has expired for a period of two years or more, shall be \$305 for licensure in medicine, osteopathy and podiatry and \$290 for licensure in chiropractic and shall be submitted with an application for licensure reinstatement.
- L <u>K.</u> The fee for a letter of good standing/verification to another jurisdiction for a license shall be \$10.

- M <u>L</u>. The fee for certification of grades to another jurisdiction by the board shall be \$25. The fee shall be due and payable upon submitting the form to the board.
- N <u>M.</u> The fee for biennial renewal of an inactive license shall be \$130, due in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be \$45 for each renewal cycle.
- Θ <u>N</u>. The fee for a returned check shall be \$25.

18 VAC 85-20-131. Licensure Requirements for physician acupuncturists to practice acupuncture.

A. The board shall license as physician acupuncturists only licensed doctors of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, and chiropractic.

B. Such licensure practice shall be subject to the following conditions:

- 1. The applicant To be qualified to practice acupuncture, licensed doctors of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, and chiropractic shall first have obtained at least 200 hours of instruction in general and basic aspects of the practice of acupuncture, specific uses and techniques of acupuncture, and indications and contraindications for acupuncture administration.
- 2. A podiatrist may use acupuncture only for treatment of pain syndromes originating in the human foot.

18 VAC 85-20-280. Required information.

- A. In compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2910.1 of the Code of Virginia, a doctor of medicine or osteopathy or a doctor of podiatry licensed by the board shall provide, upon initial request, the following information within 30 days:
 - 1. The address of the primary practice setting and all secondary practice settings with the percentage of time spent at each location;
 - 2. Names of medical, osteopathic or podiatry schools and graduate medical or podiatric education programs attended with dates of graduation or completion of training;
 - Names and dates of specialty board certification, if any, as approved by the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Board of Osteopathic Medical Specialties, <u>Bureau of</u> <u>Osteopathic Specialists of the American Osteopathic Association</u> or the American Board of <u>Podiatric Surgery</u> <u>Council on Podiatric Medical Education of the American Podiatric Medical Association;</u>

- 4. Number of years in active, clinical practice in the United States or Canada, following completion of medical or podiatric training and the number of years, if any, in active, clinical practice outside the United States or Canada;
- 5. The specialty, if any, in which the physician or podiatrist practices;
- 6. Names of insurance plans accepted or managed care plans in which the physician or podiatrist participates and whether he is accepting new patients under such plans;
- 7. Names of hospitals with which the physician or podiatrist is affiliated;
- 8. Appointments within the past ten years to medical or podiatry school faculties with the years of service and academic rank;
- 9. Publications, not to exceed ten in number, in peer-reviewed literature within the most recent five-year period;
- 10. Whether there is access to translating services for non-English speaking patients at the primary practice setting and which, if any, foreign languages are spoken in the practice; and
- 11. Whether the physician or podiatrist participates in the Virginia Medicaid Program and whether he is accepting new Medicaid patients;
- B. The physician or podiatrist may provide additional information on hours of continuing education earned, subspecialities obtained, honors or awards received.
- C. Whenever there is a change in the information on record with the practitioner profile system, the practitioner shall provide current information in any of the categories in subsection A of this section within 30 days.